Commission 37: Landslide nomenclature

//Commission 37: Landslide nomenclature

Commission 37: Landslide nomenclature

The International Geotechnical Societies’ UNESCO Working Party on World Landslide Inventory (WP/WLI) was initiated at the 5th International Symposium on Landslides (Lausanne 1988) to assist the establishment of a detailed list of the World’s landslides. The Working Party was composed of the members of the Technical Committee on Landslides (TC 11) of the International Society for Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering, the Commission on Landslides of the International Association of Engineering Geology and the Environment (IAEG Commission 2), and nominees of National Groups of the International Society of Rock Mechanics (ISRM). The Working Party later became a Working Group of the International Union of Geological Sciences (IUGS) after the ISSMFE and the ISRM joined the IUGS, and with the addition of nominees from the International Association of Geomorphologists (IAG). The scientific goal of the Working Group was to assist in the prediction of the occurrence and behaviour of landslides during the International Decade for Natural Disaster Reduction(1990-2000).
A common nomenclature was regarded as necessary to assist mutual understanding. The efforts to this end lead to consensus regarding suggested nomenclature and methods, published in a series of articles. These include A Suggested Method for Reporting a Landslide (WP/WLI 1990a), Suggested Nomenclature for landslides (WP/WLI 1990b), a simple definition of landslide (Cruden 1991),A Suggested Method for a Landslide Summary (WP/WLI 1991),A Suggested Method for describing the Activity of a Landslide (WP/WLI 1993a),A Suggested Method for reporting Landslide Causes (WP/WLI 1994), A Suggested Method for describing the Rate of Movement of a Landslide (IUGS/WG/L 1995), and A Suggested Method for reporting Landslide Remedial Measures (IUGS/WG/L 2001). Some of these were collected in the Multilingual Landslide Glossary (WP/WLI 1993b). They formed the basis of the Working Classification of Landslides (Cruden, Lan, 2014)
The Working Group also turned its attention to risk assessment associated with landslide phenomena, holding a workshop in Honolulu, Hawaii in 1997. The proceedings of the workshop (Cruden, Fell,1997) included papers on landslide risk assessment practice, approaches to risk assessment and management, and others that covered the state of the art for landslide risk management. At the end of the IDNDR, the Working Group asked its active committees to reintegrate with their parent organizations (Cruden, 2001). The incomplete Multilingual Glossary became a responsibility of IAEG Commission 2. Unfortunately this Commission was subsequently stood down. Discussions at the IAEG 2014 Congress led to its revival to address the limited field of Landslide Nomenclature.
The annual IAEG council meeting was held in New Delhi, India, during the International Conference on Engineering Geology In the New Millennium, October 25th and 26th, 2015. The president of IAEG, Professor Scott Burns, chaired the meetings. Dr. Hengxing Lan reported on the establishment of a new IAEG commission on Landslide Nomenclature. Through the discussion and vote at the council meeting, the new Commission on LANDSLIDE NOMENCLATURE was established and assigned the number C37 (IAEG NEWSLETTER,2015).

Chair

Dr. Hengxing Lan,
Professor State Key Laboratory of Resource and Environment Information System Institute of Geographical Sciences and Natural Resources Research,
Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, PR China
Email: Lanhx@igsnrr.ac.cn

Secretary

Dr. Renato Macciotta,
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of Alberta, Canada
Email: macciott@ualberta.ca

President:  Prof. Hengxing Lan (China)  Lanhx@igsnrr.ac.cn

Past President: Prof. David Cruden (Canada)  dcruden@ualberta.ca

Secretary:  Dr. Renato Macciotta (Canada)  macciott@ualberta.ca

 

Representatives (Ordered by Continent and Country)

Africa

Dr. Maria Ferentinou (South Africa )  Ferentinou@ukzn.ac.za

Dr. Egerton Hingston (South Africa )  Hingstone@ukzn.ac.za

 

Asia

Prof. Shengwen Qi (China) qishengwen@mail.iggcas.ac.cn

Prof. Qiang Xu (China) xq@cdut.edu.cn, xq-68@qq.com

Prof. Kunlong Yin (China) yinkl@126.com

Prof. Xinli Hu (China)  huxinli@cug.edu.cn

Prof. Yasser ELSHAYEB (Egypt) yasser.elshayeb@gmail.com

Prof. ZIEAODDIN SHOAEI (Iran) zshoaei@gmail.com

Prof. Masahiro Chigira (Japan) chigira@slope.dpri.kyoto-u.ac.jp

Prof. Fawu Wang (China/Japan) wangfw@riko.shimane-u.ac.jp

Prof. Ranjan Kumar Dahal (Nepal) ranjan@ranjan.net.np, rkdahal@gmail.com

Dr. Aaron SHAM (Singapore) Aaron_SHAM@bca.gov.sg

 

Australasia

Dr. Phil Flentje (Australia)  pflentje@uow.edu.au

Dr. Anthony Miner (Australia) aminer@pipeline.com.au

Dr. Andrew Hunter (Australia)  Andrew.Hunter@coffey.com

Dr. Ann Williams (New Zealand)  ann.williams@beca.com

 

Europe

Prof. Jean-Alain Fleurisson (France) jean-alain.fleurisson@mines-paristech.fr

Prof. Kurosch Thuro (Germany) thuro@tum.de

Prof. Giovanni Crosta (Italy) giovannibattista.crosta@unimib.it

Prof.dr.eng. Cristian Marunteanu (Romania) cristian.marunteanu@g.unibuc.ro, crimarunteanu@yahoo.com

Prof. Alexander Strom (Russia) strom.alexandr@yandex.ru

Dr Srđan Kostić (Serbia) Srdjan.Kostic@jcerni.co.rs

Prof. Jordi Corominas (Spain) jordi.corominas@upc.edu

Dr. Robrecht Schmitz (The Netherlands) R.M.Schmitz@tudelft.nl

Dr. Pieter Michiel Maurenbrecher (The Netherlands) maurenbrecher@yahoo.com

Dr. Helen J. Reeves (UK)  hjre@bgs.ac.uk

Dr. Tom Dijkstra  (UK) tomdij@bgs.ac.uk.

North America

Prof. David Cruden (Canada) dcruden@ualberta.ca

Dr. Scott McDougall (Canada) smcdougall@bgcengineering.ca, smcdouga@eos.ubc.ca

Prof. Scott Burns (USA) burnss@pdx.edu    President, IAEG

 

South America

Dr. Roberto I. Cravero ( Argentina)  rocrave@yahoo.com.ar

 

Italian Group: (Suggested by Prof. Giorgio Lollino)

Prof. Luciano Picarelli (Italy)  Luciano.PICARELLI@unina2.it   Promoting Committe of the ISL 2016, and President of the Commission JTC1

Prof. CASAGLI, Nicola (Italy)  nicola.casagli@unifi.it,

Prof. CALCATERRA, Domenico (Italy) domenico.calcaterra@unina.it,

Prof. GUADAGNO, Francesco (Italy)  guadagno@unisannio.it

Prof. Fausto Guzzetti (Italy)  fausto.guzzetti@irpi.cnr.it

Prof. SCARASCIA MUGNOZZA, Gabriele (Italy) gabriele.scarasciamugnozza@uniroma1.it

Prof. Nicola Sciarra (Italy)    nsciarra@unich.it

2019-01-11T11:36:08+00:00January 11th, 2019|Commissions|0 Comments

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close